Main Content


The Regional Municipality of Durham, informally referred to as Durham Region, is a regional municipality in Southern Ontario, Canada. Located east of Toronto and the Regional Municipality of York, Durham forms the east-end of the Greater Toronto Area and part of the Golden Horseshoe region.

Durham has eight unique area municipalities:

Ajax is home to one of the fastest growing populations in the eastern Greater Toronto Area (GTA). The Town has embraced a position of total inclusion for all.

The Township of Brock is located on the east shore of Lake Simcoe approximately 1.5 hours northeast of Toronto. The municipality represents three distinct urban areas, numerous hamlets, and beautiful countryside. While agriculture is the largest employer, a full range of commercial and industrial businesses are located within the urban areas of Beaverton, Cannington, and Sunderland.

Clarington is one of eight municipalities located in Durham Region. It offers residents a blend of city living and rural charm.The Municipality of Clarington is a beautiful community that forms the eastern boundary of the GTA.

Oshawa is a city in Ontario, Canada, on the Lake Ontario shoreline. It lies in Southern Ontario, approximately 60 km east of Downtown Toronto. It is commonly viewed as the eastern anchor of the GTA and of the Golden Horseshoe. It is the largest municipality in the Regional Municipality of Durham.

Pickering is a city located in Southern Ontario, sharp east of Toronto in Durham Region. Markham, Toronto, and Rouge Park border Pickering on the west; Ajax and Whitby border Pickering on the east; Uxbridge is to the north; and Lake Ontario forms Pickering’s southern boundary.

Pickering is served by the Durham District School Board, the Durham Catholic District School Board, the Conseil scolaire Viamonde and the Conseil scolaire de district catholique Centre-Sud. The public board operates 17 elementary schools and two secondary schools, Dunbarton High School and Pine Ridge Secondary School. The Catholic board runs eight elementary schools and one secondary school, Saint Mary Catholic Secondary School. The French public school board operates École Ronald-Marion, which serves both elementary and secondary students.

The Township of Scugog is a great place to explore! From boating to shopping, there are many things to do here. Some popular places to visit include:

The Township of Uxbridge is situated on the traditional territory of the Huron-Wendat, Haudenosaunee, Mississauga, and Chippewa (Anishinaabe) people. Uxbridge is home to many Indigenous communities.

Whitby is a town in Durham Region. Whitby is located in Southern Ontario east of Ajax and west of Oshawa, on the north shore of Lake Ontario and is home to the headquarters of Durham Region. While the southern portion of Whitby is predominantly urban and an economic hub, the northern part of the municipality is more rural and includes the communities of Ashburn, Brooklin, Myrtle, Myrtle Station, and Macedonian Village.